Council of Great Lakes Fishery Agencies

The Council of Great Lakes Fishery Agencies was created in A Joint Strategic Plan for Management of Great Lakes Fisheries (Plan). The primary responsibility of this committee is to guide and support the process of implementing the Plan. In doing so, the Council will consider issues pertinent to, or referred by, the Great Lakes Fishery Commission. Likewise, the Council may develop issues or recommendations for referral to other organizations, as well as to the commission. Resolutions of the Council may also be implemented under the authority of represented agencies. The Council does not duplicate the tasks of other management committees, but rather it reinforces, adds value, and supports them.

  • To ensure mutual accountability of the Parties to the Plan.
  • To provide guidance and support to the Plan's institutional arrangements.
  • To encourage and support timely and effective information exchange between fishery law enforcement agencies and fishery managers.
  • To ensure that environmental objectives are articulated and reciprocal strategies with environmental agencies are developed.
  • To represent fishery interests to the most appropriate body or process on unresolved or emerging environmental issues which may be referred to the Council by Lake Committees or the Council of Lake Committees.
  • To inform and educate on a basin-wide perspective, including the development and implementation of a strategic communications framework that details the roles and responsibilities of the Parties and the Great Lakes Fishery Commission.

Council of Great Lakes Fishery Agencies Terms of Reference

Members (representing signatories to the Plan)

  • Dave Brown, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry, Chair
  • Randy Claramunt, Michigan Department of Natural Resources, Vice Chair
  • Brad Feaster, Indiana Department of Natural Resources
  • Tom Gorenflo, Chippewa Ottawa Resource Authority
  • Justine Hasz, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
  • Scott Hale, Ohio Department of Natural Resources
  • Stephen Hurst, New York State Department of Environmental Conservation
  • Bill Mattes, Great Lakes Indian Fish and Wildlife Commission
  • Michael McClelland, Illinois Department of Natural Resources
  • Seth Moore, 1854 Treaty Authority
  • Kurt Newman, U.S. Geological Survey
  • David Nihart, Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission
  • Hilary Oakman, Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Brad Parsons, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
  • Rick Peterson, Red Cliff Band of Lake Superior Chippewa
  • Ed Rutherford, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
  • Aaron Woldt, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Updated: Dec, 2021

Publications and Products

More publications available through the Publication Search

Press Releases

No recent press releases available.

Archived releases can be accessed through the Publication Search.