The Jack Christie/Ken H. Loftus Award for Distinguished Scientific Contributions toward Understanding Healthy Great Lakes Ecosystems



The Jack Christie/Ken Loftus Award is presented by the Great Lakes Fishery Commission to recognize an individual or group making significant scientific contributions toward understanding Great Lakes ecosystems and the fisheries they support. Healthy ecosystems are the foundation for strong fish communities, vibrant fisheries, and successful fishery resource management. Jack and Ken, two former employees of the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry, remain widely known for advancing the science used in resource management. Their scientific contributions and legacies continue to set high standards for Great Lakes research. Jack and Ken emphasized science as the basis for management, and promoted an "ecosystem approach" to management of the Great Lakes. The Jack Christie/Ken Loftus award recognizes those who have adhered to the highest principles of science for the benefit of Great Lakes ecosystems.


Nominations for the Christie/ Loftus award should consider the criteria that follow:

  1. Any person or group who has made distinguished scientific contributions to the health of Great Lakes ecosystems, including: research that has advanced understanding Great Lakes ecosystems, fish communities, and fisheries. The research contributions should relate to the rehabilitation of fish communities, the conservation of biological diversity, the protection of the physical environment, enhancement of science-based fishery management, the transfer of science to management, or understanding the effects of sea lampreys on fish populations.
  2. The award may go to any person or group who has made a specific outstanding scientific contribution.
  3. The award may go to any person or group who has made long-term distinguished scientific contributions toward understanding Great Lakes ecosystems.


Those eligible to receive the Christie/Loftus award include any person or group whose performance matches the purpose and criteria of the award (as expressed above). Recipients may include (but are not limited to) employees of the academic sector; federal, provincial, or state natural resource agencies; and commissioners and secretariat staff of the commission.

Nomination Process

Any person may nominate an individual or a group to receive the Christie/Loftus award. The Board of Technical Experts and the Council of Lake Committees are especially encouraged to consider and submit nominations to the commission. Nominations for the award will be accepted at any time. A form asking for the name of the nominee, a description of the nominee’s accomplishments in relation to the criteria, and the name of the nominator will be required. Please make sure to clearly state the nominee’s research or scientific contributions that meet the criteria. The form is available from the commission secretariat or via the commission's website. Completed forms must be received by the commission secretariat by mid November of each year to be eligible for the award given at the annual meeting in the coming year. Nominations must be signed; facsimiles of nomination forms are acceptable. The form is available from our website in the following formats:

Commission Consideration and Public Presentation

Members of the commission will consider all nominations during the commission's interim meeting executive plenary session. (In the event a member of the commission is nominated, he/she shall be excused from the consideration process.) It is anticipated that the award will be presented annually. Recipient(s) of the Christie/ Loftus award will receive the award publicly during the commission's annual meeting, plenary session. The commission is eligible to provide travel expenses for recipients, as appropriate.

The Award

The name of each recipient the Christie/Loftus award shall be engraved on a plaque displayed prominently at the secretariat office. In addition, award recipients shall receive a framed certificate stating the accomplishment(s) meriting its receipt. The certificate shall be signed by the Chair and Vice-Chair of the commission. If appropriate, a formal letter shall be sent to the recipient’s employer, acknowledging the award.

Previous Recipients